WritersDomain: A “Content Mill” Job Review

WritersDomain is a website that pays writers to create search engine optimization content. In WritersDomain’s FAQ section, they define the company like this:

WritersDomain is a branch off of the online marketing company, Boostability. We specialize in SEO, or search engine optimization. Here’s how we work: our sales team finds small to medium-sized businesses (mostly local) who want to increase their rankings in Google. Then our account management team helps our customers choose keywords they want to optimize for their site. Then the work comes over to the fulfillment team, where we perform several different SEO tasks to increase their rankings.

The ‘topics’ in WritersDomain are actually our customers’ keywords. When you write articles for us, you include the keyword (topic) twice, which automatically has a link attached to it when it is published. The more we publish articles with links on reputable and related sites, the higher our customers rank in search engines.

Any U.S. resident can register to write content for WritersDomain. A writer must submit a short writing sample (200-250 words) and upload a W-9 tax form. I was approved within an hour or two of submitting my sample. Writers choose from a list of keywords, and write an article about the given keyword. The articles must be a minimum of 200 words, and must use the keyword twice. Pay per article begins at $3. I currently make $3.30 per article. The payment that a writer receives depends on the quality of the work submitted. Writers are rated on a star system. Articles are rated on grammar and content.

I have been working for WritersDomain for a few weeks now, and I have worked enough to compile a solid lists of pros and cons:

Pros -

  • The website is excellent for beginners. The instructions for each article are incredibly easy to understand, and the requirements are very minimal. Any writer with a basic understanding of English and grammar can easily write content for this website. This may not be the most exciting or lucrative job, but it allows writers to gain experience.
  • The pay is better than some other content websites. According to my math, WritersDomain pays ‘four star’ writers 1.65 cents per word, and ‘three star’ writers are paid 1.5 cents per word. This pay is not much, but it is higher than some other content websites I have worked for. It is very easy to make a decent hourly wage writing for WritersDomain. Personally, I can write 7-10 articles per hour. This allows me to make triple what a minimum wage job would pay.
  • The articles require minimal amounts of research. The keywords provided by WritersDomain are very basic. A few examples of keywords I have written articles about include “real estate online courses”, “personal injury lawyer Toronto” and “sedation dentist Calgary”. Articles must simply be informative and on topic, and obviously they must not be plagiarized. Other than that, writers simply must provide generic and relevant content regarding the keywords. I have only researched a handful of keywords I wrote about, and I did so simply because I wanted to provide high quality content.
  • There are articles available any time of day or night. One of my favorite things about WritersDomain is that there are articles available constantly. I have only been using this website for a short period of time, but there are thousands of articles to choose from 24/7. I’ve written articles at 3 AM before, and there were many keywords to choose from at that time.
  • The customer service team is prompt and friendly. I communicated with a WritersDomain customer service representative when I first joined the website. I had issues uploading my signed W-9 form. I received an email reply with helpful information within a few hours. This was very impressive, and I was satisfied with the information given to me.

Cons -

  • It takes awhile for articles to get approved. WritersDomain takes longer to approve articles than other websites I have worked for. When I wrote for BuildMyRank.com, articles were approved within minutes or hours. Textbroker approves all articles with 3-4 days, but sometimes it is much less than that. WritersDomain approves articles within 5-10 business days. To be fair, some of my articles were approved within a  day or two. For those who do not mind the short wait, this really is not an issue.
  • Payout occurs once per month (in some cases). WritersDomain pays writers on the 5th of each month. This is inconvenient for people who rely on weekly payments. There is an exception to this rule. If writers make over $100 during a pay period, a “Pay Me Now” button appears on the dashboard. This allows writers to instantly send their payment to PayPal. For full time writers, the monthly payday is not a problem.
  • The work can be very tedious; this can make writing difficult. On some occasions, I get burnt out writing generic SEO articles one after another. I find myself clicking through my emails and blogs when there is plenty of work available on WritersDomain. In order to avoid burnout, I suggest taking breaks and trying to be creative with your writing style. It makes writing generic copy much more interesting.

As I mentioned earlier, I have only been writing for WritersDomain for a short period of time. My initial opinion is very positive. I truly think this site is a good step for new writers who want to begin SEO/content writing. I will update this post as time passes to add more “pros” and “cons” I notice along the way.

For more information and opinions on working for WritersDomain, please visit the following links:

  1. https://www.writersdomain.net/Help
  2. http://www.writingforums.com/blogs/taknovrthewrld/714-writersdomain-net-why-i-wrote-about-utah-lawn-care.html

Thanks,
A.E.B.

About Freelance Writing Blog

My name is Amy. I'm a 20 year old freelance writer living in Columbia, MO. I currently write content for Textbroker, MediaPiston and WritersDomain. The purpose of this blog is to record and share my freelance writing experiences. In addition to that, I aim to provide tips and useful information to aspiring writers.
This entry was posted in Website/Gig Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WritersDomain: A “Content Mill” Job Review

  1. Thanks for your thoughtful post Amy. While I generally don’t like the term “content mill” because of the negative connotation it has in the industry I think you other post (http://freelancewritingblog.wordpress.com/2012/06/09/content-mills-the-pros-and-cons-3/) explains it well. I should also clarify that the bonuses on the FAQ aren’t currently in place; we’ve had some issues since introducing the “Pay Me Now” option with doing the incentives. I’ll make sure that gets clarified on the Help section. Thanks for writing for us and let me know if there’s anything we can do to make your experience better. – Nathan J.

  2. Ariel says:

    So far, I think Writersdomain.net is great concept. But, the only problem is that, after clicking on the ‘pay me now’ button, I have not received any money in my paypal account. This is now 4 days that I try contacting the Help Desk people, but it is in vain. Can you help me with that?
    Thanks!!!

  3. reedfanuel says:

    Hi Amy,

    I am an aspiring writer located outside the USA. Most content mills only accept USA citizens hence restrict writers from other countries from signing up. Good examples are the ones you write for ( writersdomain, textbroker, mediapiston and many others). How can you advice me? Where can you advice me to try out? Or since you have several writing accounts, can you hire me to write for you? I will really appreciate your help. Looking forward for your help.

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

